THE LORD IS GOOD…

img_0099Psalm 25:8-14 [NLT]
8 The Lord is good and does what is right;
he shows the proper path to those who go astray.
9 He leads the humble in doing right,
teaching them his way.
10 The Lord leads with unfailing love and faithfulness
all who keep his covenant and obey his demands.
11 For the honor of your name, O Lord,
forgive my many, many sins.
12 Who are those who fear the Lord?
He will show them the path they should choose.
13 They will live in prosperity,
and their children will inherit the land.
14 The Lord is a friend to those who fear him.
He teaches them his covenant.

Father,
On this Valentine Sunday I have but to glance at this Scripture and see that; “the Lord is good… the Lord leads… the Lord is a friend. A friend who forgives my many many sins. I praise you, I love you. Be so so much more than my Valentine.  Lead me. Humble me. Show me. Teach me…

GUIDANCE. How does God guide us? The better question is not how, but whom God guides. What kind of person must we be so that he leads us in our decision making? We must be so immersed in God’s written Word and truth (verses 4–5) that we are trained to choose rightly even in cases to which the Bible doesn’t speak directly. We must be not wise in our own eyes (verse 9) but aware of our sins and limitations (verse 11). We must trust that all the things God sends us are grounded in his loving will (verse 10; Genesis 50:20). God “confides” in those who have all these attitudes of heart (verse 14). He makes us wise so we know the paths to take.

Prayer: Lord, don’t just make me obedient to your Word, but also make me wise—knowing the right thing to do in the myriad life situations to which the Bible’s rules don’t directly speak. Let me grow in wisdom, judgment, and prudence, and give me the humility prerequisite for them all. Amen.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY, Reflections on the Songs of Jesus and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

