HOPE

lent day 6Psalm 25:15-22[NLT]
My eyes are always on the Lord,
for he rescues me from the traps of my enemies.
16 Turn to me and have mercy,
for I am alone and in deep distress.
17 My problems go from bad to worse.
Oh, save me from them all!
18 Feel my pain and see my trouble.
Forgive all my sins.
19 See how many enemies I have
and how viciously they hate me!
20 Protect me! Rescue my life from them!
Do not let me be disgraced, for in you I take refuge.
21 May integrity and honesty protect me,
for I put my hope in you.
22 O God, ransom Israel
from all its troubles.

Father,
I confess that unlike the Psalmist my eyes are not always on the You. It’s interesting that the Psalmist writes, “turn to me…” Because the one thing I do always feel is that your eyes are on me. The greatest enemies I need saving from are my own sins. With the Psalmist I echo, “Feel my pain and see my trouble. Forgive all my sins.” This new day, this new week, I put my hope in you. amen.

WAITING EAGERLY. Verse 21 uses the word “hope” to translate a term that means “to wait eagerly” for God. This is not resignation or passivity but an active stance toward life. David lives in integrity and uprightness (verse 21) despite how well his enemies are doing (verse 19). He also keeps his eyes on the Lord (verse 15) and seeks his presence and touch (verse 16). Those two things—unconditional obedience and prevailing prayer—are the constituents of “waiting eagerly” for God. Waiting on God, rather than jumping the gun by taking matters into your own hands, is the epitome of wisdom, as the contrasting lives and destinies of Saul (1 Samuel 13:8–14) and David (1 Samuel 26:10–11) make clear.

Prayer: Lord, I confess I do not understand your timing. If I were in charge of history and my life I would have arranged things differently. But I cannot see the whole picture, I cannot see from beginning to end, and so I wait for you in obedience and prayer. Amen.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY, Reflections on the Songs of Jesus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

