EMPTY HANDS

tree_hands____by_tine85Psalm 28:6-9 [NLT]
Praise the Lord!
For he has heard my cry for mercy.
7 The Lord is my strength and shield.
I trust him with all my heart.
He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy.
I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.
8 The Lord gives his people strength.
He is a safe fortress for his anointed king.
9 Save your people!
Bless Israel,
your special possession.*
Lead them like a shepherd,
and carry them in your arms forever.

Father,
I too am a child of Abraham, lead me also like a shepherd. I repent as I reflect on my wanderings this past week. Give me the strength I’ll need in this upcoming week. May I spend more time praising You and claiming Your promises than I spend petitioning You for protection. Increase my trust in You as You hear my cry for mercy. May my praise reflect my trust as I rely on Your strength.

PRAYER-HEARING GOD. We can’t live without prayer. David has made petitions that were both bold and specific (verses 3–5). He took time to reason with God, reminding him of why he was making his requests. Then he bursts into praise in verse 6 that God has “heard my cry.” How could he know that? Perhaps God sent David a special revelation that his exact request would be answered. We have no such access. But when we make our requests known to God we can do something like this: We can thank him ahead of time for giving us what we would have asked for if we knew everything he knew (Philippians 4:6–7).

Prayer: Father, I know that you listen to me—not because I deserve it but because your Son, Jesus, my great high priest, brings my needs before your throne and you hear them all for his sake. I lift my empty hands to you and ask that you fill them with your grace and help. Amen

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY, Reflections on the Songs of Jesus and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

