WALKING WITH THE LIVING WORD

beaches

Psalm 29 [NLT]

Honor the Lord, you heavenly beings*;
honor the Lord for his glory and strength.
2 Honor the Lord for the glory of his name.
Worship the Lord in the splendor of his holiness.
3 The voice of the Lord echoes above the sea.
The God of glory thunders.
The Lord thunders over the mighty sea.
4 The voice of the Lord is powerful;
the voice of the Lord is majestic.
5 The voice of the Lord splits the mighty cedars;
the Lord shatters the cedars of Lebanon.
6 He makes Lebanon’s mountains skip like a calf;
he makes Mount Hermon* leap like a young wild ox.
7 The voice of the Lord strikes
with bolts of lightning.
8 The voice of the Lord makes the barren wilderness quake;
the Lord shakes the wilderness of Kadesh.
9 The voice of the Lord twists mighty oaks*
and strips the forests bare.
In his Temple everyone shouts, “Glory!”
10 The Lord rules over the floodwaters.
The Lord reigns as king forever.
11 The Lord gives his people strength.
The Lord blesses them with peace.

Father,
Verse 3 starts of saying “The voice of the Lord echoes above the sea.” There is no place else on earth that I’d rather spend time with you. The ocean reminds me time and time again that You are Mighty to save. A walk on a beach revives my soul and when I am walking with my wife, forgive me but heaven can wait a day because I feel like I’m already there. The vastness of the ocean reminds me that my creator is greater than my troubles or problems. The crashing waves whisper your might. Teach me trust You all the more when I am not near my hiding place and the busyness of any given day muffles Your reminders that You are in control.

LORD OF THE STORM. Hurricanes have massive power, yet God’s is greater—he is enthroned over the flood (verse 10), working out his will sovereignly in nature and history and even through storms for our ultimate good (Romans 8:28). God’s power is particularly evident in his voice (verses 3–9). What God’s voice or Word does he does (verses 5 and 8). His divine power is active in his Word. Do not underestimate, then, how much the power of God can do in your life through the Bible. The voice of the Lord can break down even our strongest defenses, defuse our despair, free us from guilt, and lead us to him.

Prayer: Lord, if I want your power in my life, I must listen to your Word. Enable me to “read, mark, learn and inwardly digest” the Scriptures and therein encounter you, my living Lord. Amen.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY, Reflections on the Songs of Jesus and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

