RESCUING

rescuingPsalm 37:35-40 [NLT]
I have seen wicked and ruthless people
flourishing like a tree in its native soil.
36 But when I looked again, they were gone!
Though I searched for them, I could not find them!
37 Look at those who are honest and good,
for a wonderful future awaits those who love peace.
38 But the rebellious will be destroyed;
they have no future.
39 The Lord rescues the godly;
he is their fortress in times of trouble.
40 The Lord helps them,
rescuing them from the wicked.
He saves them,
and they find shelter in him.

My reflections through prayer
Father,
Your word says that you rescue the godly, in my sinfulness I’m anything but godly.
Yet, when you look at me you see Jesus’ righteousness not my rebellion.
So this morning again I proclaim my need for a savior. I sin, I’ve become quite good at it having over 60 years of practice. I’m not making light of it, when I sin I hurt myself and you.
But your grace is greater than my grievances.
Thank you for being a safe place when I’m troubled
Thank you for helping, and rescuing and be a safe place for me to run too.

From Tim Keller’s book: Songs of Jesus
THERE IS A FUTURE. Living for yourself inevitably comes to nothing (verses 35–36), but for us “a future awaits” (verse 37). This doesn’t necessarily mean a prosperous life. It does mean a future of increasing joy and love in this world and infinite amounts of both in the next. We will be resurrected (1 Corinthians 15:35–58). We will not go to nothing. We will not be just a floating consciousness. We will not become part of an impersonal cosmic force. Our future is a world of love (1 Corinthians 13:12–13). We will walk, eat, converse, embrace, sing, and dance—all in degrees of joy, satisfaction, and power that we cannot now imagine. We will eat and drink with the Son of Man “forever” (Psalm 23:6).

Prayer: O Lord, the future is beyond my imagining. Yet even my small efforts to do so give me a lightheartedness and hope I can get no other way. “Till then I would thy love proclaim with every fleeting breath; and may the music of thy name refresh my soul in death.” Amen.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY, Reflections on the Songs of Jesus and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

