Your waves and surging tides sweep over me

your waves and surging tides sweep over me

Psalm 42: 6-11 [NLT]
6 my God! 
Now I am deeply discouraged, 
but I will remember you— 
even from distant Mount Hermon, the source of the Jordan, 
from the land of Mount Mizar. 
7 I hear the tumult of the raging seas 
as your waves and surging tides sweep over me. 
8 But each day the Lord pours his unfailing love upon me, 
and through each night I sing his songs, 
praying to God who gives me life. 
9 “O God my rock,” I cry, 
“Why have you forgotten me? 
Why must I wander around in grief, 
oppressed by my enemies?” 
10 Their taunts break my bones. 
They scoff, “Where is this God of yours?” 
11 Why am I discouraged? 
Why is my heart so sad? 
I will put my hope in God! 
I will praise him again—  
my Savior and my God! 

My meditation in prayer
Father,
How my heart resonates with the line, “as your waves and surging tides sweep over me.” And even though we seem to connect better when I’m there walking on a beach, the next line in the psalm says, “But each day the Lord pours his unfailing love upon me” – so whether I am at my “happy place” or “home” you re always with me pouring out your love. Teach me to receive it w/ more gratitude, forgive me for taking your grace, mercy and love for granted so often. Sometimes I act like a 3rd generation welfare recipient and have a air of entitlement about me. Forgive me when I obligate You. As I place my hope in You again may I praise You by my actions and deeds. May those around me sense my Savior and my God.

From “Songs of Jesus” by Tim Keller
SELF-COMMUNION. As the psalm proceeds we see that the phrase “I will yet praise him” (verses 5 and 11; Psalm 43:5) is not a mere prediction of change but an active exercise. When we are discouraged, we listen to the fearful speculations of our hearts. “What if this happens?” “Maybe it’s because of that!” Here instead we see the psalmist not merely listening to his troubled heart but addressing it, taking his soul in hand, saying, “Remember this, O soul!” He reminds his heart of the loving things God has done (verse 6–8). He also tells his heart that God is working within the troubles—the waves sweeping over him are “your” waves (verse 7). This self-communion is a vital spiritual discipline.

 

Prayer: Lord, I need to learn how to preach to my own heart, rather than just listening to its foolish or panicky chatter. Help me learn how to effectively say to my unruly inward being, “Put your hope in God!” Amen.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

