EVERYDAY CHRISTIAN

 

Psalm 48:9–14. 9 Within your temple, O God, we meditate on your unfailing love. 10 Like your name, O God, your praise reaches to the ends of the earth; your right hand is filled with righteousness. 11 Mount Zion rejoices, the villages of Judah are glad because of your judgments. 12 Walk about Zion, go around her, count her towers, 13 consider well her ramparts, view her citadels, that you may tell of them to the next generation. 14 For this God is our God for ever and ever; he will be our guide even to the end.

My reflection in prayer:

Father, 

On this Monday morning I thank you for Sunday morning, I thank you for church family, I thank you for corporate worship. I was encouraged walking the walls and hearing the praise, the fellowship, the teaching. We raise our hearts with the psalmist and echo the thought. “For this God is our God for ever and ever; he will be our guide even to the end.” At the same time I confess my recurring ability to confuse your plans with mine. How often do I ask you to follow me? Or worst how often do I just assume You aren’t watching. How often is my thing, my thing and not our thing. Remembering how back in the day you could get the newspaper only on Sunday if you wanted. Am I a Sunday only Christian? Remind me often to turn to Jesus and to meditate on your unfailing love. Make me an everyday Christian. Amen.

From Tim Keller’s book; “Songs of Jesus”

GUIDE TO THE END. Jesus is the true temple (John 2:21), and when we unite with him by faith we receive his Spirit and become a living temple in which God dwells (Ephesians 2:19–22). When Christians “count [Zion’s] towers,” they thank God for the church and joyfully wonder at what they have become in Christ. When they “tell of them to the next generation,” they show inquirers the way of salvation through Jesus. And the Lord is “our guide even to the end” (verse 14). The end of what? There are many endings in life, the greatest one being death. Its mystery and terror are made bearable by the knowledge that Jesus will be with us, into death and out the other side.

Prayer: Lord, I need to be melted by spiritual understanding of the greatness of what we have become in you. We are your flock, your dwelling, your body, your kingdom, your people, your love. Teach me how to love your church and fully participate in its life and mission. Amen.

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

