BECKON ME!


PSALM 110 [NLT]

1 Praise the Lord!
I will thank the Lord with all my heart
as I meet with his godly people.
2 How amazing are the deeds of the Lord!
All who delight in him should ponder them.
3 Everything he does reveals his glory and majesty.
His righteousness never fails.
4 He causes us to remember his wonderful works.
How gracious and merciful is our Lord!
5 He gives food to those who fear him;
he always remembers his covenant.
6 He has shown his great power to his people
by giving them the lands of other nations.
7 All he does is just and good,
and all his commandments are trustworthy.
8 They are forever true,
to be obeyed faithfully and with integrity.
9 He has paid a full ransom for his people.
He has guaranteed his covenant with them forever.
What a holy, awe-inspiring name he has!
10 Fear of the Lord is the foundation of true wisdom.
All who obey his commandments will grow in wisdom.
Praise him forever!

Adore—What did you learn about God for which you could praise or thank him?
Admit—What did you learn about yourself for which you could repent?
Aspire—What did you learn about life that you could aspire to, ask for, and act on?

Prayer of Reflection
Father.
This psalm reminded me to ponder your amazing deeds. My mind runs to the the ocean – from the sounds to the sights my soul is satisfied each time I gaze upon it. And I know in my heart that you created the oceans and you instilled in me a sense of completeness when I walk along a beach or just sit and close my eyes and listen to the roar of the crashing waves. In that moment all is well and I trust in you all the more.
Yet as I continue to read this psalm I confess my reluctance to trust you always. I’m confused by your choices sometimes. Why one person gets healed and another suffers. Why one person lives and another dies. My one person is having a great day and another can’t wait for today to end.
The psalm speaks of your glory and majesty, your grace and your mercy, it speaks of you wonderful works and yet sometimes you seem so distance and unengaged.
The psalm also speaks of obeying your commandments if I’m to grow in wisdom.
I’m feeling rather dumb, and I’m feeling it’s a true reflection of my lack of obedience.
The psalm begins with saying; “Praise the Lord!” And ends with “Praise Him forever!”
I do praise you. I don’t understand you, but that is what makes you God.
As I experience your grace and mercy everyday, I pray that I would learn to see in all around me and that your handiwork in the lives of people both near and far would become evident.
Sometimes as I stand at the waters edge and as a wave shallows up my feet and as it is returning to the ocean it pulls at me, beckoning me.
May your handwork in the lives of those both near and far from me beckon me to you. Praise your name.

From Tim Keller’s book:
THE ONE WE MUST RESEMBLE. Psalm 111 describes God and Psalm 112 how his people come to resemble their God. We were made in his “image” (Genesis 1:27). That means we were made to relate to him and reflect back to him his own character. So who is this God we should be like? God is a worker who makes things (verse 2). He is righteous (verse 3), compassionate (verses 4–5), and a God of truth (verses 7–8.) Finally, he is a God of integrity, who keeps his promises (verse 9). We will become like this not simply by obeying his rules (as important as that is) but through “the fear of the LORD” (verse 10), worshipping him with awe. We become like the things we love most.

Prayer: Lord, I may say my prayers and obey your commands, but it is true worship and adoration that will actually change me. Don’t let me settle for the shallows of mere religious compliance. Fill me with the joyful fear that comes as we seek your face. Amen.

#PrayingthePsalms #heartfeltreflections

About Ragamuffin Navigator

Sharing Jesus through Media Posting Life Journal Entries and other Random Thoughts Building Community Touched to touch others Blessed to be a Blessing pushing 60 and want to leave my mark, before I leave my marker
This entry was posted in DAILY LIFE JOURNAL ENTRY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

